Skip to content

A Day in the Life of a Windows Developer

October 2, 2016

Yesterday I hunted down and eventually overcame an infuriating problem with the Visual Studio toolchain I am using to build Tarrasch. The problem was a bogus “This project is out of date do you want to build it?” message every time I started the Visual Studio debugger. The message is bogus because it appeared every time, even immediately after a successful rebuild. Experienced (perhaps that should be “jaded”) Visual Studio developers are likely familiar with this problem. It is possible to simply ignore the message, but that gets old quickly and besides, it is rather antithetical to typical programmer mentality.

The details of this problem vary but the basic pattern is a standard one, I know it has happened to me before. There is plenty of help to be found on the Internet, although it turns out that most of that help is misleading if you are using Visual Studio 2015.  Older versions of Visual Studio would require a tricky hack (involving weird xml config files) to make Visual Studio more verbose so that it would explain its build decisions. Bitter experience (from yesterday) tells me that the tricky hack doesn’t work any more, although the good news is that there is now a much simpler solution;

Tools-> Options-> Project and Environment-> Build and Run-> change verbosity

Woo hoo. In my case, acquiescing to the build request always resulted in sqlite3.c being recompiled. So I cranked up the build verbosity and studied the masses of diagnostic information that now accompanied the build, including an explanation for the apparently unnecessary sqlite3.c recompile. It turned out that sqlite3.c is dependent on an obscure Windows building block called C:\Windows\System32\tzres.dll. Presumably this is a time zone related component of some sort, which is ironic since I am pretty sure my problem only popped up as a side effect to my edge case time zone (I live in New Zealand, in the extreme GMT+12 timezone, in the future compared to most everyone else). But I am getting ahead of myself.

I tried to figure out why Visual Studio connects sqlite3.c to tzres.dll, but couldn’t see any suspicious includes and ultimately gave up the chase on that front. Surely I could fix the problem irrespective? Very much to the point was the fact that I had woken up to an overnight automatic upgrade to Windows 10 Anniversary edition. Apparently that update had mysteriously changed the timestamp of tzres.dll to a date in the future (!). This meant that sqlite3.c would always be “out of date” (i.e. need to compile), until we reached that future date. Fortunately it was only one day in the future, so as it happens the problem would have sorted itself out simply by waiting for a day. My best guess is that something about my extreme timezone, which usually has me one day in advance of most of the computing world (especially in the middle of the night) confused Windows Update.

I mistakenly decided to force the issue (rather than just living with it for the rest of the day) by tweaking the timestamp of the disorderly tzres.dll. The plot thickens, Windows 10 fought back, resisting all my attempts to revert the timestamp to something more sensible!  Windows knows best, if it says we’re in the future, we must be in the future! My backup work-around was to instead change the timestamp of sqlite3.obj to the future date too (should I be thankful that Windows didn’t somehow work out what I was doing and stop me ?: ), so that Visual Studio doesn’t always want to compile sqlite3.c. Unfortunately Visual Studio still thinks TarraschDb.exe is out of date (because it’s now behind sqlite3.obj) so it still wants to do an unnecessary link. So I only saved the unnecessary compile.

In retrospect it would have been better to have saved the hours I spent investigating the problem – given that the problem was going to solve itself after a day or two anyway. That doesn’t happen often though, and I suppose it’s nice to have at least a partially solved mystery.

I decided to write the whole thing up here, it might help someone else if something similar crops up and they have good google fu.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Aon permalink
    October 2, 2016 4:19 am

    Just stop developing for windows and these problems will go away.

  2. Robert M permalink
    October 9, 2016 5:31 am

    lol No, please keep developing for Windows. Tarrasch is a very useful program for me and I’m looking forward to the finished version 3.

  3. October 9, 2016 9:14 pm

    I think serious development for any mature and capable platform inevitably involves occasional deep dives into murky waters as you fight perplexing problems. I aim to get Tarrasch out on Mac and Linux as well, and when I work on those platforms I inevitably get heaps of grief as well. I remember the update from Mountain Lion to Mavericks was particularly painful for me – Apple changed a bunch of little things and it took me days of head scratching to get my dev environment working again. Personally, I have way more experience in Windows and so I am a lot more confident that I am going to get to the bottom of a problem when it occurs in the Windows world. I suspect it’s the same for almost all developers (having said that there are no doubt polymaths who are exceptional) – You are much more productive in the environment you have most experience with. Other environments feel foreign and awkward.

Leave a Reply

