Skip to content

Finally

December 12, 2015

I have been in a kind of almost-there software hell for the last four days or so. Experienced programmers will probably recognise the syndrome – You think today is finally the day…. every day. For days on end.

But finally, I can announce that I have released the Alpha version of Tarrasch V3. I am using Github extensively these days (like all the cool kids :- ). I think it makes sense to use their “Release” facilities, at least until the final T3 (as I affectionately call it myself) is finished.

So, to try out Tarrasch V3 now go to The release page on Github and follow the instructions. As I signalled earlier, T3 is not quite as easy to install as T2 at this stage. I am using a “portable .zip” type of distribution, which is a kind of “extras for experts only” option for T2. Basically the idea is that you download a zip file, unzip it anywhere, and run the program directly. There is no setup/install/uninstall process, so there’s no registry impact and hopefully no chance of messing up your existing T2 installation.

I hope the modest level of computer expertise required (how to unzip a file and run a program from Windows explorer or the command line) will not prevent plenty of people trying out T3.

I am sure T3 will be a disappointment to many people since I haven’t yet made the most requested improvements to T2. I’m sorry about that, I really am, but I have limited time and I decided to focus on the things I really need, in the hope that other people will find these things useful when they see them. Please be assured that T3 is a huge advance on T2 in many respects.

Firstly there’s a very capable database facility. I have included a smallish demo database to demonstrate this feature. My demo comprises all the games that a select group of the best players in history have played amongst themselves (so only great player v great player games). The selection of 300+ players is biased towards modern players, but plenty of historical greats also feature.

To really get the most from the database features, serious players will want to build a giant database. I have used Tarrasch V3 this way myself for a long time now, with a 4 million plus game database. Creating such a database can take hours and results in a huge .tdb (Tarrasch database file), but those are one-time costs and the payoff is really quick searches!

My other favourite new feature is the game preview available in each of the current file, database, clipboard and session views. This is a great way to quickly play over a lot of games.

An innovative feature is the “clipboard as database” concept. Collect a bunch of games (maybe from a player or players of interest) in the clipboard, turn on this feature and explore the games using the database features. Try it and I am sure you’ll like it.

One last thing, T3 has much better large file handling than T2, along with lightning quick column sorts. Including my special favourite “Moves” column sort – that sorts the games according to line popularity. Again the best way to understand the power of this idea is to try it yourself.

I hope you enjoy using Tarrasch V3.

 

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2015 11:46 pm

    A very nice program! I like the interface more than that of Arena. Is there a way to turn off the multi PV mode for the engine, which now has to produce 4 top moves?

    • December 13, 2015 1:21 am

      I’m sorry no, the top 4 moves remains a constant. I don’t recall anyone asking me to make this optional or varied before actually, which is a little surprising…

  2. Robert Maddox permalink
    December 18, 2015 4:45 pm

    Looks great. Looking forward to the 3.0 release! Regarding MultiPV, I’ve tried using a custom parameter in the engine settings (MultiPV 1) which works the first time you hit the kibitzer button, but fails if I stop, then restart the kibitzer – if that makes sense.

  3. David Beagan permalink
    January 24, 2016 5:14 pm

    Hi Bill, great product, I appreciate all your work on it. One issue, the feature “Go straight to game for single game .pgn files” does not seem to work for me in the latest release. Or maybe it is just me?

    By the way, if you would, I would prefer an option to “Go straight to game for all .pgn files.”

    Thanks so much,
    Dave

    • January 27, 2016 4:15 am

      Sorry for the slow reply David.

      > By the way, if you would, I would prefer an option to “Go straight to game for all .pgn files

      I am working on a minor T2 revision and will include this for you David. Thanks as always for your support. Bill.

Leave a Reply

