Skip to content

Ping

July 27, 2014

I haven’t posted anything here for a while. I don’t like to leave the radio silence going for too long, I don’t think that’s fair to people who are interested in Tarrasch, no matter how small that audience might actually be. So this is just a little ping if you like, just to indicate that I am still alive, still working a little on Tarrasch, and anticipating being able to devote more time soon. I still hope to have a preview version of the next major Tarrasch version available before the end of 2014.

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2014 12:18 am

    Hi, Bill, my name is Jorge. I am a brazilian chess player (so, sorry for the bad english) and I like the Tarrasch Chess Gui very much. It’s trully a brilliant piece of software. So, I’d like to suggest you a little neat feature which I think would be great to have in the next version: keyboard input for moves. And I’d also like to thank you for your work, it really stands as one of the simplest and best chess gui available.

    • September 5, 2014 2:06 am

      Thanks for your kind words Jorge. Your English is very good actually, and about a billion times better than my Portuguese (I did spend a week in Sao Paulo back in 2002). I will remember your feature request. Please note that you can enter moves from the keyboard (kind of) by typing the move as a comment, then using the “promote comment to variation” feature (I really wish I had called it “promote comment to moves” which is simpler and more descriptive).

  2. Czémán Mátyás permalink
    September 28, 2014 11:14 am

    Hi Bill. Matthew here from Hungary. Your GUI is incredible, can’t wait to see the next versio to try out the new features. Engine vs Engine match and full game analysis with scoregraph will be included?

    • September 29, 2014 1:57 am

      Thanks Matthew. Yes for full game analysis, no for engine match. I used to want to do engine match, but more recently I have realised that 1) I have limited energy and time and 2) My motivation is mainly to build the tool I want, and hopefully then other people will like it. Engine match is not something of much personal interest to me, so the focus on Tarrasch V3 is now database features, something I really need. As far as engine match is concerned, maybe if I am still working on Tarrasch in five years, or maybe if I can tidy up the code further and get other programmers involved.

  3. Peter Petersen permalink
    October 20, 2014 7:33 pm

    Your GUI is the best that I have tried because of the simplicity of it.

    I would like to suggest that when you double-click a line, the first move of the line is made. The current copy function is of no use to me.

    Kind regards

    • October 22, 2014 8:18 pm

      I will reply properly when I return home on Saturday. Thanks.

    • October 24, 2014 11:34 pm

      Thanks for you kind compliment. Your feature suggestion is interesting. Can I ask, why double click rather than single click ?

  4. A Fan permalink
    October 23, 2014 8:38 pm

    I am a fan of Tarrasch and have been using it for over a year now. As mentioned above, I really love the simplicity of it but I’d like to share with you a few of my recommended features – ones that I use other programs for instead:

    – Board color and size customization (the contrast isn’t easy on the eyes after long periods and if viewing at a high resolution takes up only a small portion of the screen)
    – Opening names
    – Sort games by ply
    – View more than 8 moves of a game in current file menu (This isn’t an issue if you open up the attached book.pgn file)
    – Hide move notation window (when playing guess- the-move for example)
    – Hide book moves when playing against the engine. The only way to hide it at the moment is to disable it, but then the engine will play the same odd opening. The computer also plays the same opening every time I restart.
    – Open very large files. I currently use a 200mb file as my opening book and mini database but I cannot open this to edit it. I assume you’ll address this with the database feature.

    Thank you and all the best.

    • October 24, 2014 11:55 pm

      Thanks for this detailed feedback;
      – Board size / colour customisation – I don’t know when I’ll get to this – I do recognise the need, but it’s graphic programming, not my strength and I could easily spend all my Tarrasch programming time on this. I am hoping that as I get Tarrasch V3 into better shape on Github I might pick up programming helpers. V3 will have some great database features and a really good open source chess program that will run on Windows, Mac and Linux should in theory attract some buzz in the programming community. The contrast is a stupid error on my part – it’s very easily fixed, and maybe I should put out a maintenance release but I *hate* putting out maintenance releases.
      – Opening names. I have worried more about the absence of ECO codes, but maybe this is an opportunity to kill two birds with one stone. Now if I had a willing volunteer to provide a table of characteristic moves (positions), with ECO codes and opening names, wouldn’t that be a good thing !
      – Sort games by ply. Interesting idea! I never thought of that but can see right away the how it could be interesting and useful. In general I am putting a lot of (too much) effort into “sort by X” at the moment – trying to get it orthogonal. Sort by moves is a real challenge because of the way I am compressing moves for the database feature – but I am making good progress. I finally understand why ChessBase uses weird notation in the database window (it’s more easily sorted) – I want to avoid quirks like that.
      – View more than 8 moves. Yes a lot of effort going into that (basically see previous item)
      – Hide move notation window. Better window management would be nice – but perhaps not my top priority. I am sure you’ve noticed you can shrink the move notation window so that it’s so narrow you can’t see any moves !
      – Hide book from human only in human v computer. I could do that easily enough. It does sort of go against my philosophy – making Tarrasch work like every other program where the engine only sees the book. But no reason it couldn’t be an option now that I know at least one person like the non-Tarrasch way!
      – Open very large files. Yes, I am putting a big effort into making this a million times better – sorry it is poor in V2

      Thanks again for your thoughts.

  5. Daan Noordenbos permalink
    December 19, 2015 7:44 pm

    I love the simplicity of the program thanks for the great work!

Leave a Reply

