Skip to content

Beta Version Coming this Friday

August 15, 2011

Until very recently, if anyone emailed me a request, I would reply with download instructions for the Alpha Version. However for the last ten days or so, I have instead been asking emailers to wait for the Beta version which is now very close.

The alpha version was really a “demo” version. It was near feature complete, but very lightly tested. At this stage I am frankly embarrassed by the bugginess of the alpha version. It is time to get a feature complete, stable, usable, vastly less buggy version into my user’s hands.

The alpha phase was a closed release (i.e. you had to ask to get it). The beta phase will be open. I will put the Beta version on triplehappy.com and anyone who wants it will be able to download it. The Beta version will be a “release candidate”. That is, if no show-stopping bugs show up, the Beta version will be renamed and become the official Tarrasch V2. There might be multiple beta versions as (if) bugs are discovered and fixed.

So, if you are one of the regular trickle of people contacting me to ask for the alpha version, please be patient for a few more days. This Friday I intend making a better, beta version available. If for any reason I don’t meet that deadline, I will at the very least update the alpha version and make that available to existing testers, as well as the people I’ve asked to wait until Friday.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Iliya permalink
    August 15, 2011 12:14 pm

    I am sorry I discovered your site and Tarrasch Chess GUI so late.

    Looking forward to testing the Beta version, and will do my best to give you some useful feedback.

    Regards
    Iliya

  2. August 16, 2011 3:56 pm

    🙂

  3. August 16, 2011 10:11 pm

    glad to hear about the newest version … love tarrasch … outstanding program … eager to see the new one this friday🙂

Leave a Reply

