Skip to content

Back on the Horse

June 30, 2011

 

I hope the title tells you what this post is about. I am back in the saddle and actively working on Tarrasch again. To be honest, I never expected to take such a long break. The plan was to issue the alpha version, gather feedback, finish version 2.0. The reality worked out as issue the alpha version, ga….the…….r.f…e…..e……d……..b……a……..c………k………. So yes I admit it. I issued the alpha version and took a long unscheduled break. There were reasons for this. Fatigue. Distractions from other projects. Etc. But anyway, that phase is over and it’s time to look forward.

The new plan is pretty simple;

  1. Fix the obvious bugs in Tarrasch V1.90
  2. Get undo working
  3. Get the “small screen” mode from V1 working again
  4. Add a “kibitzer” button in the toolbar
  5. Maybe add customised notation (eg K,D,T,S,L instead of K,Q,R,N,B)
  6. Review all feedback, fixing less obvious bugs that users have submitted (thank you)
  7. Review all feedback, adding low hanging fruit feature requests (thank you)
  8. Do some testing this time
  9. Ship V2

Really, it shouldn’t be too hard. I’ve been working a few days already and am deep into step one of this plan.

Thanks for your emails and other feedback. I hope you stick with me through to Tarrasch V2 and beyond!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Lloyd Standish permalink
    June 30, 2011 3:57 pm

    Good luck with the bugfixes!

    • July 24, 2011 6:42 am

      Thanks Lloyd. Still working on them. The program is so damn complicated at this stage. Maybe once I get to 2.0 I will look at refurbishing the innards. Although programmers always want to do that.

  2. nocteus permalink
    July 14, 2011 7:27 pm

    Good luck too! (eager to see my fav Tarrasch updated)

    • July 24, 2011 6:40 am

      Sorry, somehow I missed this one. Thanks for the encouragement. I have been plodding away this weekend, making progress. I’ll get there in the end.

  3. Lloyd Standish permalink
    July 24, 2011 4:33 pm

    Remember to “divide and conquer.” That is, break all complex routines into smaller, simpler routines. In my programming I have never followed this carefully enough, so I ended up with complicated code too.

    Don’t feel too pressured to advance on this. It’s supposed to be fun! I’m sure everybody who is waiting for the next version understand that.

  4. Dominick permalink
    December 12, 2011 4:32 am

    Is there anyway to “highlight” last move played? That would be fantastic.

Leave a Reply

