Skip to content

Plans for V2

April 22, 2011

I’ve been very busy lately and haven’t done much on the Tarrasch front. Since releasing the Alpha version, my plan has been to take a break, do nothing but collect bug reports, and then at some stage pick myself up and charge on to a complete V2 release. That is still my plan. Hopefully a gap in my schedule will open up soon, and I’ll find the the time and inclination to complete the plan.

I haven’t collected that many bug reports from users. The lazy part of my brain wants to conclude that there aren’t many bugs in the Alpha version. The realistic part of my brain knows this isn’t true, since all of my casual usage of V1.90 seems to immediately draw out a horrible bug! I’ve noted these before in this blog. The most recent example is that I just discovered that if you setup a position, then start a game against an engine as the player who doesn’t have the move, bad things happen and the game doesn’t start. Ugggh! The good news (the only good news) is that these sort of gross bugs are usually easy to fix. It’s the subtle ones that usually give pain.

Anyway. I’ll probably not post again until I start on the final charge to V2. It shouldn’t be too much longer now, and then an intense, hopefully fairly brief, development burst should get me over the line.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Lloyd Standish permalink
    April 22, 2011 4:16 pm

    Hi,
    I haven’t been able to do much testing of Tarrasch. However, I haven’t been able to duplicate the bug you mentioned running Tarrasch V2 under wine on Linux. Could that be because I am running it in Linux? For example, I set up a position, then choose for example “white to move,” then start playing as black. Tarrasch makes its move as expected.

    Tarrasch runs very well under wine version 1.0.1-174 (Debian Lenny) and looks beautiful. I wanted to post a screenshot but I see that is not possible in this blog.

    • April 22, 2011 8:03 pm

      Hi Lloyd. It’s very surprising (but somehow pleasing) that you can’t reproduce the bug under Linux. I need to look into the bug and figure out what’s causing it before I comment more. Unfortunately I am planning to work 12 hours on something else today. I love that you have Tarrasch working on a completely different OS to the one it’s been developed for. I always enjoy reports like that. If you could email me your screenshot I’ll put it up in a new post.

  2. Tod Jackson permalink
    April 24, 2011 1:38 am

    I would be happy to give the alpha version a go for bugs. Running Windows 7 x64 on a M11x R2 laptop.

  3. Tod Jackson permalink
    April 24, 2011 6:54 pm

    I don’t have a mac but after I read this I tried to reproduce the problem, or at least a similar one. I set up a position pretty randomly with the white king on d5, the black king on f3, a white rook on a1, and a black rook on h2. For some reason it added a pawn to d4 after I hit play black. Then I moved the black king to f3 and the engine I was using, Deep Rybka x64, crashed. The program remained open though. Oh yeah, and it said (book) when it added that pawn… but I don’t see an option to use a tablebase. I played a game against the same engine last night with no problems. It won.😉

    • Lloyd Standish permalink
      April 24, 2011 8:42 pm

      I can confirm what is probably the same bug, arrived at a bit differently:

      Under wine (Linux), I started with “Setup Position,” then chose “Intermediate: Winning with extra piece, middle game” from the “Training Position” pulldown menu.

      Then I clicked the FEN “apply” button without changing anything. This is not necessary but should not produce the error to come. If I don’t do this the bug is not (always?) produced.

      I clicked “OK”, then “Play Black,” when forces the engine to make the first move. The extra pawn is added to d4 (K4), resulting in 9 pawns on the board, and it becomes black’s move. White’s first “move” is not recorded (I am emailing a screenshot of the board right after the extra pawn appears.) I tried playing and the engine crashed after a couple of moves.

      I hope this helps.

      • April 25, 2011 12:04 am

        Thanks Lloyd, from your screenshot (supplied in a separate email) I can see this is definitely the same catastrophic error as I originally reported. Thanks.

    • April 25, 2011 12:08 am

      Thanks Tod, you and Lloyd have both noticed a twist I hadn’t (the extra pawn). Usually less than subtle bugs like this are easy to fix. We’ll see. For now the work around is to always start games with the engine to play, although playing as black from the standard opening position seems okay.

  4. james patterson permalink
    May 30, 2011 1:28 pm

    I have a usb chess board that outputs moves .would like to see tarrasch v2 use keyboard input.

Leave a Reply

