Skip to content

The Alpha Test so far

March 21, 2011

So far I have sent out 22 delivery emails to people who have asked for them. Separately, I have sent another 22  invitations (including download instructions) to other potentially interested people, many of whom subsequently indicated they would participate.

So perhaps 30 people have participated to date.

The good news is that I haven’t been inundated with bug reports🙂

The bad news is that I haven’t really had much feedback at all😦

The most significant thing to come out of the test so far, is that for a significant number of people, kibitzing is not working at all. One of the people with this problem sent me a flash demo of his experience (thank you Labyrinth from the Rybka forums). I found that demo quite disturbing. It looks as if the dynamic placement of windows and buttons in the main part of the screen I use is flawed.

For some people (hopefully most people), me included, the screen looks very much like the preview screenshot on http://www.triplehappy.com. The chessboard is on the left. The moves and commentary window is on the right. The kibitz window, (activated by ctrl-K = start kibitzer), is below, and shows 4 lines of analysis, unobstructed by scrollbars. No text anywhere is chopped off because the window is too small.

If you find that the moves and commentary are on the left rather than the right, or much worse, the kibitz window is permanently invisible, that is a bug. It’s my fault not yours, and I unreservedly apologise.

It’s possible that this problem is sufficiently serious that I will call a halt to the alpha test soon. I would like to know approximately what proportion of people are having these problems, and for that a little more feedback would be helpful.

With a little luck, the window placement problems won’t be that hard to fix, and I may issue a new, fixed alpha version within the next week or so.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ravi permalink
    March 21, 2011 11:27 am

    many thanks for sending me alpha version for testing.i find that kibitizing function is not working and i have not found commentary on move.how can i get commentary ?commaentary function is not working in my computer.

    • March 21, 2011 11:22 pm

      Firstly, please check my new post “If kibitzing doesn’t work for you…”. Hopefully this will be the problem. Commentary from the engine is available with kibitzing. You can also add your own commentary by typing into the moves window.

  2. Slobodan Stojanovic permalink
    August 3, 2011 12:52 pm

    If possible, I´d like to try your newest version. I need a simple GUI able to register games with comments and variations, analyze games with an installed strong engine and play occasionally with a weak or medium engine.

    • August 4, 2011 6:09 am

      Thanks Slobodan. Your feature list is pretty much an exact match to Tarrasch V2. Now every previous occasion I’ve had a post like this I have responded with download instructions for the alpha version. I am not going to do that this time, because I’ve been fairly intensively fixing the alpha version for a while now, and I am actually embarrassed by how buggy it is. Soon, very soon, I am going to update to an improved alpha version which will be far more stable. If you haven’t heard from me within, say, a week, post again and I will at least send you the best I have to date.

Leave a Reply

