Skip to content

Tarrasch V2 Alpha Version Ready!

March 13, 2011

I was starting to wonder if I was ever going to get there, but happily, I can announce I have finally reached this milestone.

This version is strictly an alpha version – that is, a pre-beta version. I have labelled it V1.90, which feels about right. It is useful and near complete. The only thing missing from my current V2 vision is proper undo and a real help file.

It is only very lightly tested. I don’t expect it to be bug free. In fact I know there are some bugs there. I am really hoping to get some quality testing from people who are kind enough to download it and give it a workout.

Because it is not ready for prime time, I am only releasing it to people who ask me for a copy. Just reply to this post or send me an email and I will tell you how to download the program. Sorry, this means you don’t get immediate gratification, but I promise to reply promptly, immediately if I happen to be awake and paying attention.

I must caution that many of the things people ask me for most aren’t there yet. In particular no resizable graphics, and no engine v engine play. I’m sorry about that, I really am. But my goal with this version has been to address the rather shocking shortcut I took with V1, and provide real file support, and real variation support. These things are now present and complete and I think the ease of use is undamaged. I think Tarrasch V2 will be able to claim a spot as a real, serious chess workbench. It’s no longer a toy program. I hope and believe it will be the easiest to use, real chess program available anywhere.

With chess programming taking root as my “hobby for life”, as soon as Tarrasch V2 is finished I will be thinking about V3. And don’t worry, Engine v engine and resizable graphics will *definitely* be part of V3.

 

41 Comments leave one →
  1. Yves permalink
    March 13, 2011 9:26 am

    I’m very happy for this alpha version, and i’m ok to test it.
    I enthusiast to test it and give feedback.

    Thanks
    Yves

    • March 13, 2011 10:29 am

      Thanks Yves. A delivery email just dispatched to you. I hope you enjoy the program.

  2. March 13, 2011 1:51 pm

    I would also be happy to beta-test for you, either 32-bit or 64-bit.

    Cheers!
    Humble Programmer

    • March 13, 2011 9:45 pm

      Thank you Mr Humble programmer. A delivery email just dispatched to you too. I must admit I am using 32 bit tools, and have no immediate plans to create a 64 bit version.

      • Jason permalink
        May 6, 2011 12:44 am

        Thank you for all your hard work!! I am an avid fan and would be most interested in learning more about Tarrasch V2. If you would bo so kind as to allow me to test, it would be greatly appreciated!

  3. Kostya permalink
    March 13, 2011 9:45 pm

    I would like one too, I will be happy to test it!🙂

    • March 13, 2011 9:50 pm

      Of course you are most welcome too. Check your email for the download instructions.

  4. Kostya permalink
    March 13, 2011 11:49 pm

    Thank you, at last it can open and save png files🙂 And it looks even better then before.

  5. Kostya permalink
    March 13, 2011 11:51 pm

    But in the screenshots it also was commenting moves, but the actual program doesn’t. Does it depend on the engine I use?

    • March 13, 2011 11:57 pm

      To comment on moves, just type away with the keyboard, it couldn’t be easier. To get the engine to comment on moves, start the kibitzer, and press the “capture one” or “capture all” buttons to capture the kibitzer’s moves and the engine’s scores as comments.

  6. Kostya permalink
    March 14, 2011 12:47 am

    Thank You!

  7. Eddy permalink
    March 14, 2011 11:04 am

    I’d love a copy of this as well, I was a bit hesitant because I think I’m pretty poor at bug reporting, but I will try my best!

    • March 14, 2011 8:24 pm

      Welcome Eddy. Your best is good enough for me! Don’t worry about bug reporting if you don’t feel like it, it is okay to just try the program out if that is what you want to do. I have dispatched an email with download instructions.

  8. LiJun permalink
    March 15, 2011 9:13 am

    Hi,
    I like this GUI and want to test it. Please give me a copy. Thanks anyway!

  9. Kostya permalink
    March 15, 2011 9:02 pm

    Also when I press switch sides, it flips the board and sometimes it is not wanted because it is easier to look at positions from the side you were looking before. Just a thought

    • March 15, 2011 11:03 pm

      You can always manually flip the board back (Ctrl-F or toolbar button). It would be more confusing if the board didn’t automatically flip the board on swap sides. That makes sense most often to most users.

  10. Pepe fischer permalink
    March 15, 2011 9:34 pm

    I will be glad to test version v2. I use v1, every day and I mean every day and happy with it.

  11. ravi permalink
    March 18, 2011 4:04 am

    hi , i am using tarrasch version but i will be triple happy to test new alpha version.many thanks for releasing alpha version soon.

    • March 18, 2011 9:51 am

      Triple happy eh? I like that. Delivery email on its way.

      • ravi permalink
        March 19, 2011 9:15 am

        many thanks for sending alpha version .kibitzing function is not working and how can i get comments from engine on every move.

      • March 20, 2011 1:23 am

        Thanks. If kibitzing is not working, you can’t get any comments from the engine. If it does work, kibitz capture gets some information from kibitzer, other comments can be typed in yourself.
        Please provide extra information about kibitz failure. It seems there is a problem for some users, I need more information to try to reproduce and fix this problem. Perhaps you could answer the following questions;
        Does Tarrasch V1 kibitzing work ?
        For Tarrasch V2 kibitzing, have you tried more than 1 engine ? Do any of them work.
        Is it true that kibitzing doesn’t work, but playing a game does work ?
        What is your operating system type and version ?
        Does kibitzing start, then time out ? Or is there some other failure mode.

        So

  12. Luca permalink
    March 18, 2011 9:15 pm

    Hi;!
    I wish to test the new Tarrasch!
    Luca

    • March 19, 2011 2:04 am

      Whoops, my delivery email bounced, I don’t think you provided a valid email address. Please try again

  13. gideon permalink
    March 19, 2011 11:00 am

    Hi, currently I am using Tarrasch GUI v1. I’d love to test your new Tarrasch v2 Alpha version GUI.

    • March 20, 2011 1:32 am

      Delivery email sent.

      (I think I’ll stop adding these delivery comments, they don’t add much – assume your delivery email is on its way once I notice your post, i.e. once it appears after moderation)

  14. Philip Chen permalink
    March 20, 2011 12:15 am

    Hi. So excited to know that I can get a hand on Tarrasch V2 Alpha Version. I use the 1.00b version on daily basis. And I would like to test it out and give you a detail feedback. Thank you very much.

  15. ravi permalink
    March 23, 2011 1:51 pm

    kibitizing is working after i read ur views about pixal and resolution. i increased my computer resolution. thanks for that. how can i get special comment from engine about my move and my position in a game?

    • March 23, 2011 10:35 pm

      The kibitz capture button(s) in the kibitz window are the only mechanism available for the engine to provide commentary. You can enter your own comments as well. If these features do not meet your needs, you are free to describe, (in precise English please), exactly what features you would like.

  16. Hans Peter permalink
    March 23, 2011 9:48 pm

    If you still search alpha-tester I’m in.

  17. ahm permalink
    March 29, 2011 11:59 am

    Hi, I am very interested to try Tarrasch V2 alpha version. Thanks.

  18. chico permalink
    April 7, 2011 1:47 pm

    Hi, i’d like to try Tarrasch V2 alpha version. Thanks.

  19. glt permalink
    April 8, 2011 10:34 pm

    I’d also like to try V2! Thanks.

  20. rchesp permalink
    April 15, 2011 12:56 pm

    Hi
    I’m interested in trying the Tarrasch V2 alpha version. Props on the good work so far.

  21. Michael Boyd permalink
    April 18, 2011 2:59 pm

    Might I be brave ennough to have a go at Version 2. I already have 1 and like it very much. Keeps me sane in my old age

  22. Alex Sherbin permalink
    May 31, 2011 3:38 am

    Hi Bill, is it all right to get a copy of Alpha Version. I am like everybody else here use version one for my training and find it indispensable. To be able to copy pgn’s and capture kibbitzer are awesome features. Will report on any bugs or post any suggestions.

    Kind Regards,
    Alex

    • May 31, 2011 4:12 am

      Thanks Alex, I have just sent you my standard delivery email. (Thanks to others below also, everyone has received delivery emails). My apologies that the blog has dried up a little. Delivering the alpha version was good for taking a little break, but it’s gone on too long and I really need to get back to finishing off V2. The alpha version is okay, but it’s not really the real deal yet.

  23. Alex Sherbin permalink
    May 31, 2011 6:16 am

    Hi Bill, thank you so much for the alpha version, it is everything I hoped it would be. The sheer simplicity of use yet powerful analysis, makes is increadibly good. I’ve had one idea though, what about adding chessboard coordinates ?

    Alex

  24. Jaseem Ali permalink
    June 14, 2011 5:46 am

    I would like to test theV2

  25. Laurent Selvi permalink
    June 16, 2011 11:10 am

    Hello, I’m interested by your GUI v2. I’ve used Chesstempo and Arena, but they don’t meet my expectations yet.

    Could you please send me your download instructions ?

  26. June 20, 2011 4:50 am

    please send me v2 download instructions – thx,
    happy user of v1

Leave a Reply

