Skip to content

Quoting Arnie

February 25, 2011

I’d like to quote Arnold Schwarzennegger from the cult movie “Commando”;

Bad guy (as Arnie is about to blow him away) > “But you promised to kill me last!”

Arnie > “I lied”.

Well it’s totally true that I promised not to post again until I had released my alpha/demo/promo version of  Tarrasch V2. But I am afraid I must repeat the Arnie dialogue I just quoted.

I have a really good excuse, I really do. I have a really good opportunity to do some real, paid for (I hope), chess programming. I can’t talk about it for commercial confidentiality reasons. But I have thrown myself into it because I need to make an impact quickly. Finishing off Tarrasch has been choked off as a direct result. The good news is that as soon as I have produced some good results on the other project, I will be back into Tarrasch, with only a couple more days work to do (at least for alpha/demo/promo status).

I’m really sorry I am testing your patience like this.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Lloyd Standish permalink
    February 25, 2011 4:11 pm

    Don’t worry, we’ll continue to patiently (but anxiously) await Tarrasch V2!

  2. vinny permalink
    February 27, 2011 10:03 am

    Tarrasch V2 ! You have to do it for Tarrasch fans.

  3. Yves permalink
    March 2, 2011 9:24 am

    Keep in touch, we are fan we are waiting😉

  4. Kostya permalink
    March 8, 2011 9:38 pm

    *Clock Ticking in Silence*

    • March 8, 2011 9:41 pm

      I am working on it today. I have a day. Maybe today is the day. I am sorry to drag it out like this, trust me it’s driving me crazy🙂

      • Kostya permalink
        March 8, 2011 11:16 pm

        It’s alright🙂. I noticed sometimes it looks like the chess engine has a plan and after I make the move I KNOW it wants me to make, it then thinks for a REALLY long time again. Maybe you could implement a system where it can plan for the future and remember if something goes as he wants it to go and follow the path he thought of in the previous move, instead of thinking it all over again. I am not a chess programmer, just a thought. I am not even sure you can make it with Rubka…

      • March 9, 2011 10:48 pm

        I know exactly what you mean. Basically chess engines would be more fun if they behaved more like humans. But remember, I am not programming the engine, just the GUI.

        (I sent this reply yesterday with email but it seems for me at least the WordPress “reply to comments with email” feature doesn’t work)

  5. Kostya permalink
    March 9, 2011 8:31 pm

    I got the winboard and arena but I use this one because of it’s simplicity and nice interface. So I am really looking forward to getting the new one!

    • March 9, 2011 10:49 pm

      Working on it again today. Will today be the day? Just realised I have never got the lag feature working in T2. This will take an hour or so by itself…

  6. Kostya permalink
    March 10, 2011 9:52 pm

    Ok, I understand now. I am learning programming myself and I just noticed the source code in the web-site🙂. But I am a real noob at chess engines.

  7. james patterson permalink
    May 30, 2011 1:37 pm

    How about keyboard inputs. e2e4 e7e5 etc…

Leave a Reply

