Skip to content

Journal Entry #16

February 8, 2011

Last week I finished up my second tough tournament of the year. In the end I was happy with both tournaments, scoring 4.5 out of 11 in the NZ champs, and 4.5 out of 9 at the Zonal. Embarassment happily avoided at both events. In fact, in the old days 50% at a zonal, even the Oceania Zonal was worth an automatic FM. Fortunately they changed that rule because it would be truly embarrassing being a 2000 rated FM.

After finishing the tournament my wife and I went for a short driving holiday around the North Island. We’ve been home for a couple of days now, and yes I am once more focussed on Tarrasch V2.

I am working through the list of issues I recently posted. I don’t think I will bore you with another post until I am ready to release my alpha/demo version. Hopefully days not weeks.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Martin permalink
    February 15, 2011 10:12 am

    Hi, good luck with the new version, we’re all eagerly awaiting it!
    My questions are: would the new version allow running it from a usb stick instead of installing things on the comp. Secondly, will a linux version available?

  2. February 17, 2011 8:37 pm

    Sorry Martin, I have been very remiss in not answering earlier. I have unexpectedly found myself hugely busy this week, and haven’t worked on Tarrasch for several days.
    1) USB stick. Of all the things people ask me for, this would be the easiest to implement. From memory I only need to add a few lines of code to make this possible, since Tarrasch has a very lightweight connection to the Windows registry/install/uninstall mechanisms. Thanks for bringing it up as otherwise I would likely have forgotten to make the changes for V2. A complication is that for the “real” V2 (as opposed to the “alpha/demo/preview” V2) I might want to install a chess font (for resizable diagrams for example) and that will complicate this issue. Maybe what will happen is that there will be some “extra for experts” documentation that will spell out a straightforward method of running Tarrasch without installing it per se, but involving, say, manual installation of a chess font.

    2) Linux. I have written before that Tarrasch has been developed with a view to portability, mainly in the choice of wxWidgets. However at the moment I use neither Linux or Mac, and I have limited time. However, if Tarrasch V2 is well received, there could be more interest from the developer community, and that might lead to someone (else) making the required effort. I think that this time when I publish the Tarrasch V2 source code I will put it on github. The Tarrasch V1 source code gets downloaded quite often, but I’ve never had feedback from anyone beyond that point.

  3. vinny permalink
    February 23, 2011 4:29 pm

    Tarrasch GUI is a great work , really appreciate your work . I felt really happy playing against engine from my chosen position , till date I’ve not been able to figure out how to do it in fritz. V2 awaited.

Leave a Reply

