Skip to content

Journal Entry #14

December 26, 2010

Well it’s the day after Christmas, Boxing day we call it here. I am a little disillusioned with the project since in recent days I have been putting in a lot of effort for very little tangible reward. I’ve been obsessing over the details of the promote comment to variation feature. One of the differences between this development and a real software development job is the absence of a project manager who would definitely (try) to stop a programmer from a distraction like that. A professional program manager would have told me days ago “Look, nobody cares about this feature anyway except you. Just wrap it up so that it basically works and move on. Come back and improve it later once we’ve shipped at least an alpha version”.

Never mind. The hypothetical project manager doesn’t exist, so I’ve been able to get the feature working just as I want it too, and nothing has suffered except the schedule!

Now I have finished all the alpha features, so the alpha version shouldn’t be too far away.

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Yves permalink
    December 26, 2010 9:23 am

    Hello,

    Happy christmas mister TrippleHappy😉
    Take time, be patient to give a software with good quality.

    Again i follow stap by step and read all post, and i will be happy to test the version 2.

    Keep in touch😉
    Regards
    Yves

    • December 29, 2010 6:04 am

      Thanks for all your support Yves. I hope you and your family have a great 2011.

  2. Lloyd Standish permalink
    December 28, 2010 1:23 am

    I found your blog today and read through all your posts. I found you via Tarrasch ToyEngine included in Lucas Chess. I am a amateur programmer and chess enthusiast.

    Your design goals for Tarrasch II are exactly what I think a chess GUI/workbench should do. Your project is extremely interesting and valuable, and it is great that you decided to write the blog to document your progress.

    Know that your work and your writing reaches people around the world who are very interested in and grateful for what you are doing.

    I am a Linux enthusiast. I have some C experience and may be able to help you with a Linux version (should be easy given your use of xWidgets.) Also, let me know if you need server space.

    • December 29, 2010 6:09 am

      Thanks for these kind words. Messages of support like this are very encouraging and certainly help motivate me to keep the project moving forward.

      A Linux (and a Mac) version are definitely goals for the medium term. I have heard that Tarrasch V1 works well with Wine (a Windows emulation system for running Windows software on other Intel based operating systems). But of course a real native version would be better and that was a key motivator for using wxWidgets.

Leave a Reply

