Skip to content

Agenda

September 24, 2010

I am starting this blog mainly as a personal journal that will help keep me motivated and focussed on the task of finishing Tarrasch V2. There is always the possibility that one or more people will find some of the things I have to say interesting, but really that is just a (potential) bonus.

I do intend to write about exactly what Tarrasch V2 will offer, and to break down what has been accomplished so far,  what remains, and how long it will take. There may be ruminations on generic development issues (eg C++ pros and cons), and chess programming issues (eg my algorithm for compressing a chess position into the fewest bytes possible).

But I envisage most posts to simply be short “what I did today” type posts. I do at least a little work on Tarrasch most days, and I plan to summarise each of these sessions as a way of keeping me tracking towards the ultimate goal.

So the first of these “Daily summaries”;

Yesterday I finally eradicated all traces of move lists from Tarrasch. I’ve replaced them with move trees, which are like lists except that they are recursive; That is another complete move tree can grow from any move within an existing move tree.  This in microcosm is probably the most important difference between Tarrasch V2 and Tarrasch V1. In V1 I took the huge short cut of just presenting each game as one list of moves. In V2 I am going to support variations and subvariations of arbitrary depth

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Yves Catineau permalink
    September 26, 2010 11:26 am

    Continue like this, i think step by step you will offer a great gui with the version 2.0
    BTW, with the version 1, i like teach position by importing a pgn file for book (list of position to solve) and use it for training.

    If i can help you to debug the 2.0 version, i will be here

    Regards
    Yves

    • September 27, 2010 6:19 am

      Thanks Yves, your support has always been enthusiastic and most welcome. I am glad you like the opening book training. I should really have mentioned this in my earlier post about the key ideas behind Tarrasch V1.

      I haven’t heard from you for a long time and was worried you had lost patience with me. I apologise for taking so long with Tarrasch V2! My earliest estimates were way too optimistic. When I was younger and a working programmer I prided myself on meeting or at least getting close to my aggressive estimates. Oh well, things change. For Tarrasch V2 I have learned not to make promises. I can just about see light at the end of the tunnel now, but there is still much to do.

      • Yves permalink
        September 27, 2010 7:15 pm

        Hello,

        I don’t lost patience, i’m more patient and enthousiastic about your work and Tarrash Gui v2.0😉
        My learning is step by step, feature by feature, and a lot of test before to give any product : a good quality is better than a product with patch😉

        Regards
        Yves

Leave a Reply

