Skip to content

Open Source Release

January 8, 2012

For a long time now I have been feeling guilty about my promises to open-source Tarrasch V2. In the last couple of days I finally overcame my inertia and doubts, and worked through the processes involved. I’d always planned to tidy up the code before this step, but in the end I have skipped that step for now. There’s no reason that I can’t make the improvements I wanted post-release, in a publically visible way.

Those of you who have been following Tarrasch for a while might be aware that I previously open-sourced Tarrasch V1. On that occasion I simply zipped up the source code and made it available as a download on triplehappy.com. This time around I wanted to do it properly. There are highly visible and successful sites which host collaborative open-source development in a more modern, transparent, traceable, effective way than you could ever hope to achieve by passing around .zip files. The most successful of these sites is Github, but I have decided to use a competitor, namely BitBucket. The main reason for that is that BitBucket supports Mercurial and Git (Github is strictly Git only). Mercurial and Git are both distributed version control tools [I know this is gobbledygook for non-programmers]. They both have pros and cons, but for the moment I prefer Mercurial mainly because I  have at least some prior experience with it and also because it is better supported on Windows (allegedly – Git was written by Linus Torvalds of Linux fame and for him Windows is a dirty word).

So from about one hour ago, anyone at all can go to bitbucket.com, search for “Tarrasch Chess GUI” (or my username, billforsternz) and begin collaborating with me on future Tarrasch developments.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kosta permalink
    March 11, 2012 12:07 pm

    Awesome, I am getting it today!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

